Collections

Overview

A Collection is a place for Mode users to organize reports around a team, project, or common theme. All Mode reports live in exactly one Collection but a report can be easily moved to a different Collection within the same Mode Workspace.

Collections that you belong to are listed on the left side of your Mode home page under the Collections section. Click on a Collection to see a list of all of the reports in that Collection. At the top of your screen, you can toggle between viewing all reports or archived reports. You can also sort reports by name or when they were created, last edited, or last run. The availability of different types of Collections depends on your Mode Workspace's version:

Mode Studio Workspaces have one Collection that is created when the Workspace is created and cannot be deleted.

Workspaces with a paid Mode plan can have an unlimited number of Collections and anyone in the Workspace can create any number of Collections. Users can see all Collections they have access to in the Collections list when they click on Collections in their navigation panel.

Types of Collections

Personal Content

You have a personal Collection in each Mode Workspace in which you are a member. Your personal Collection is created for you when you join a Workspace and it cannot be renamed or deleted.

When you create a new report it will live your personal Collection until you move it to another Collection. Manage access to your Personal content by navigating to Personal in the navigation, clicking the gear button, and Manage Access.

(Recommended) Keep the default access set to Viewer if you want users in your Workspace to be able to view Personal content you share with them. Note that other users cannot navigate to or search for your Personal content. They can only view the Report if you share the link with them.

Update the default access to Restricted if you don’t want users in your Workspace to view or edit your Personal content.

You can also specifically grant individuals and groups access to view and edit Personal content you share with them.

Reports in Personal collection

Community Collection

Reports in the community Collection are public and can be viewed, shared, run, or cloned by anyone on the internet. Building reports based on data in the Mode Public Warehouse and saving them in the community Collection is a great way to demonstrate and share your analytics and visualization skills with the entire Mode community and beyond!

Each Workspace's community Collection is hidden by default, but it can be easily enabled by a Workspace admin. When enabled, every member of the Workspace can contribute to the community Collection and they will see it listed on the left side of their home page in the Collections section.

The community Collection can only include reports with queries that run against the Mode Public Warehouse. If a report has ever queried a database other than the Mode Public Warehouse, such as any of your Workspace's private connected databases, the report can no longer be moved into the community Collection. This is true even if the most recent run of the report only queries the Mode Public Warehouse.

Managing Collections

Create a Collection

Any member of a Workspace can create a new Collection:

  1. Navigate to the Mode home page and sign in if you aren't already.
  2. Click on Collections in the navigation panel to access all of your Collections.
  3. All Collections in the Workspace will now be listed on the right. Click on Create Collection in the upper right.
  4. In the Create a Collection pop-up, enter a unique name for the Collection. Optionally, add a description.
  5. By default, new Collections will have default access set to “Restricted.” You can update the default access to Viewer or Editor. You can also update the default access once the Collection has been created.
  6. Click Create.
  7. You will be prompted to add other members of your Workspace to your newly created Collection. Click Add next to any members or member groups that you want to become a member of your new Collection. Learn more about what it means to be a member of a Collection.
  8. Click Done.

Delete a Collection

Before you delete a Collection, you must first remove all reports from that Collection, including any archived reports. You can either move the reports to another Collection or delete the reports. To delete a Collection once it contains no reports:

  1. Navigate to the Mode home page and sign in if you aren't already.
  2. Open the Collection you'd like to delete, either by clicking on it's name in the Collections section (if you are a member) or by clicking on Collections in the navigation panel, finding it in the list, and clicking on the Collection.
  3. At the top of the window, click on the gear next to the Collection's name.
  4. Click Delete Collection.
  5. A pop-up will appear confirming that you want to delete this Collection. Click Ok to delete the Collection.

NOTE: You cannot delete your personal Collection. While you cannot delete the community Collection, it can be disabled by a Workspace admin.

Change a Collection's name or description

Only users with Editor access to a Collection can change the name or description.

  1. Navigate to the Mode home page and sign in if you aren't already.
  2. Open the Collection you'd like to rename, either by clicking on it's name in the Collections section (if you are a member) or by clicking on Collections in the navigation panel.
  3. At the top of the window, click on the gear next to the Collection's name.
  4. Click Rename Collection.
  5. Modify the Collection name and/or description in the pop-up window.
  6. Click Save.

Membership and visibility

All Collections you have access to and have been added to your navigation will be listed in the Collections section on the left side of your Mode home page. Any new Collections you've been added to will also show up in your navigation automatically. If you do not want the Collection to show up in the Collections section,you may go to the Collection and remove it from your navigation.

If you want to add a Collection to your navigation, go to "My Collections," select the Collection you wish to add, and click the icon next to the Collection name.

Add collection to navigation

For more information on how to manage access, check out Collection Permissions.

Add other members to a Collection

Only users with Editor access can add new members to a Collection. Here’s how:

  1. Navigate to the Mode home page and sign in if you aren't already.
  2. Open the Collection that you want to add members to, either by clicking on it's name in the Collections section (if you are a member) or by clicking on Collections in the navigation panel, finding it in the list, and clicking on the Collection.
  3. At the top of the window, click on the gear next to the Collection's name.
  4. Click Add Members.
  5. Find all members or groups in the list that you'd like to add to this Collection. Next to each one, click Add.
  6. When you are finished, click Done.

Remove other members from a Collection

Only users with Editor access can remove members from the Collection. To remove members or groups from a Collection:

  1. Open the Collection you want to remove members from by clicking Collections on the navigation panel, finding it in the list and clicking on the Collection.
  2. Click the gear icon next to the Collection's name.
  3. Click Manage Access.
  4. All members and groups with access to the Collection will be listed under Additional Access.
  5. Click the dropdown next to the member or group you want to remove access for and click Remove Access.

Was this article helpful?

decorative particle

Get our weekly data newsletter

Work-related distractions for every data enthusiast.