Organizing reports

Create a new report

  1. Navigate to the Mode home page and (if necessary) sign in to Mode.
  2. Click on the

    New

    button in the upper right corner of the window.
  3. A new, empty report will be created in your personal Collection.

Star a report

Use stars to privately mark the reports you use the most so you can find them quickly. To star a report:

  1. Navigate to the Collection where the report is located.
  2. Hover over the report thumbnail; an empty star will appear next to the report name.
  3. Click on the

    Star

    .

To see a list of all the starred reports, regardless of where they live, click on

Starred

on the left side of your Mode home page. To remove a star from a report, repeat the above steps.

Clone a report

Mode lets you copy an existing report so that you can modify or build on it without making changes to the original. You can clone any report that you created. In a paid plan organization, you can clone any report visible to you, as long as you have access to all of the database connections used in that report.

To clone a report:

  1. Navigate to the Collection containing the report you want to clone.
  2. Hover over the report thumbnail and click the

    More

    button that appears in the upper right.
  3. Click

    Clone

    .
  4. A cloned report, including all code, results, and visualizations, will be created in your personal Collection with you as the creator.

You may now modify this cloned report without impacting the original report in any way.

Archive a report

You can archive reports that you want to hide from view but are not yet ready to delete. To archive a report:

  1. Navigate to the Collection containing the report you want to archive.
  2. Hover over the report thumbnail and click on the

    More

    button that appears in the upper right.
  3. Click

    Archive

    .
  4. The report will be hidden from view, but it will not be modified in any other way.

Archived reports are still accessible to organization members via direct link or search. You can see all of the archived reports in a Collection by navigating to that Collection and clicking on the

View All Reports

dropdown in the upper right, and clicking

Archive

. You can unarchive any of the reports in this view by hovering over the report thumbnail, clicking on the

More

button that appears in the upper right, and clicking

Unarchive

.

Delete a report

Deleting a report removes it from your organization, including all of its code, results, run history, and visualizations. When you delete a report, it will no longer be visible in Mode, and links to that report will no longer work. To delete a report:

  1. Navigate to the Collection containing the report you want to delete.
  2. Hover over the report thumbnail and click on the

    More

    button that appears in the upper right.
  3. Click

    Delete

    .

When you delete a report, it will no longer be accessible by anyone in your Mode organization.To recover a deleted report, contact customer support.

Move a report to another Collection

  1. Navigate to the Collection containing the report you want to move.
  2. Click the

    More

    button in the upper right corner.
  3. Click

    Move to...

  4. Find and click on the Collection to which you want to move the report.
  5. Click

    Move

    .

You can move reports that you can edit into any Collection that you have access to. However:

  • Once you move a report from your personal Collection to another Collection, you cannot move it back.

NOTE:

A workaround would be to clone the report back to your personal Collection.

  • You cannot move a report to the community Collection if any query within it has ever been run against any database other than the Mode Public Warehouse.
decorative particle

Get our weekly data newsletter

Work-related distractions for every data enthusiast.