Report scheduling and sharing

Sharing and scheduling

To share a report, open it and click Share in the report header.

Email

Share via email

To share a report via email with one or more teammates (or even with yourself!), enter a comma-separated list of their email addresses here. You can include a short message to provide context and use the options at the bottom to further customize the email they will receive. When you click Send, Mode will send the email immediately.

You can choose whether or not to include links to Mode reports when you share them via email, Slack, or PDF. To remove report links when sharing, un-check Include report links.

NOTE: All recipients must be members of your Mode Workspace or have an email address in a domain claimed by your Workspace, unless the report has external sharing enabled.

If the report does not have external sharing enabled and you enter an email address which is in a domain claimed by your Workspace but which is not a member of that Workspace, the user will automatically be invited to join your Mode Workspace and must become a member in order to see the report.

Slack

NOTE: The guidance in this section is for workspaces on the latest Slack integration version, which uses granular bot permissions and requires adding the Mode slack bot to private channels.

Workspaces on the legacy integration will not need to add the Mode slack bot but will still need to ensure the organization admin, who connected Mode with Slack, is a member in destination private channels.

TIP: Mode will be sunsetting the legacy Slack integration in September 2022. To upgrade your workspace to the latest Slack integration version, follow the instructions here.

Share via slack

To share a report to a channel in a connected Slack workspace, select the name of the Slack channel and optionally include a message to provide context. The Slack message will always include your name, the report title, an internal link to the report. An image preview of the report output will also be included unless this setting is disabled for your Workspace by an admin. When you click Send, Mode will post the message to the designated Slack channel immediately.

To share a report to a private channel in a connected Slack workspace, type the private channel name into the Channel picker exactly as it is; private channel names will not be autocompleted.

Prior to clicking Send, be sure to add the @Mode slack bot to any private channels that will be sharing destinations. You can do this by mentioning @Mode in the channel and then you’ll be given the option to add the bot to that channel. Private channels without the @Mode bot cannot receive shared reports. Here’s an example to add a bot to a Slack channel:

Slack Bot Private channel

Everyone in the Slack channel you choose will see the message you share (including the image preview), even those who are not members of your Mode Workspace or who otherwise would not have access to the report in Mode. However, only those who have access to the report in Mode will be able to access it via the included report link.

Share via link

Every report has a unique set of links that can be used to access it and share it with others. These links never expire unless the report is deleted:

  • Internal Links - Accessible only by logged-in members of your Mode Workspace with access to the report.
  • External Links - Report visualizations and query results are viewable by anyone on the internet. Visible when external sharing is enabled for the report.

You can also select the kind of output that is returned:

  • Report Link: Displays the report with data from the most recent time it was run.
  • Run Link: Displays the report as it appeared at the time you generated the link.

Click Copy next to any link to copy that link to your clipboard.

TIP: An easy way to tell the difference between a report link and a static run link is that a static run link will always have /runs/[RUN_TOKEN]/ near the end of the URL path.

Scheduled runs

Any member of your Workspace with edit access to a report can configure that report to be run, and optionally shared, on a regularly occurring schedule. Reports can have multiple schedules configured so the report is sent to different groups of users at different frequencies.

To create a new schedule or manage existing schedules for a report, open the report and click Subscribe in the report header. To modify or delete an existing schedule, click on the gear next to it. To create a new schedule:

  1. Click Create a New Schedule.
  2. Configure the schedule, including the refresh frequency as well as parameter values and delivery settings (if applicable).
  3. If you want the scheduled report run to be delivered via email, click Create + Manage Subscribers and add all recipients on the next screen.
  4. Click Create Schedule.

NOTE: A report schedule will continue to run until either the underlying report or the schedule is deleted, even if the report author or schedule creator is no longer a member of your Workspace.

Scheduled runs will include Mode's Notebook as long as the Report view page contains at least one output generated from the Notebook. At that point, the Notebook will refresh when the report itself is re-run. To add a Notebook output to your report, click Add to Report located on the top toolbar of the Notebook.

External sharing

External sharing must be explicitly enabled on a report-by-report basis. When external sharing is enabled for a report:

  • Anyone on the internet with an external link to the report may view the report's visualizations (e.g., charts, display tables, etc.) and query results. The underlying code, other report runs, and any other information won't be visible.
  • The report may be shared via email with recipients outside your Mode Workspace or claimed domain.
  • Sharing the report from Mode via email or PDF will not contain any Mode branding.

IMPORTANT: Take care when distributing external report links to prevent unauthorized access to your private data.

Once an admin has enabled external sharing for your Workspace, as long as the report has been moved to a collection, anyone with edit access to a report may enable or disable external sharing for it. To enable or disable external sharing for a report:

  1. Open the report and click Share in the report header.
  2. Toggle the switch in the pop-up so it says "External sharing of this report is ON" to enable. To disable, toggle the switch in the pop-up so it says "External sharing of this report is OFF".
  3. Close the pop-up.

The report can now be accessed by anyone on the internet using an external link. If you disable external sharing for a report, any previously generated external links to the report will immediately stop functioning and will return a 404 Not Found error.

TIP: To simulate what someone outside your Workspace can see with an external link to a report, try accessing it using your browser's private mode.

Was this article helpful?

decorative particle

Get our weekly data newsletter

Work-related distractions for every data enthusiast.